Divorce Petition Kansas
When filing for a divorce in Kansas, the first thing you need to file is a divorce petition in
Kansas. You may file the divorce petition yourself or obtain the help of a divorce lawyer to help you file your
Where must I file the divorce petition in Kansas?
To file a divorce petition in Kansas, it is Kansas divorce law that you must have lived in
Kansas for at least 60 days. If you have then you may file your divorce petition in
the district court of the district where either the petitioner of the divorce or the
Respondent lives or
the district court of the district where the Respondent may be served.
Where do I get the forms for the divorce petition to file for a divorce in Kansas?
On the first floor of the courthouse, there should be a Law library with forms that you can use
to file your divorce petition. The Tenth Judicial District Court of Kansas, Johnson County, is located in the
courthouse at 100 N. Kansas Avenue, Olathe, Kansas. The divorce petition forms include the Civil Information Sheet
which you must include when filing a petition for divorce. The Civil Information Sheet deals with out of state
support orders. If:
you must also file:
a proposed Parenting Plan,
a Domestic Relations Affidavit, and
a Child Support Worksheet
How do I file for a divorce petition in Kansas?
First get the divorce forms for Kansas at a courthouse' s Law library.
complete the divorce petition form (including all of the above if applicable) and sign it in front of a
take the completed and signed original divorce Petition to the Clerk of the District Court as well as
at least two copies.
pay the divorce filing fee of $147.
the courthouse Clerk will stamp the original Petition and the copies with the case number and court
keep one copy for yourself and use the second file stamped copy to serve the Respondent (your spouse)